For Love of the Land

Out of an abundance of caution for the health and safety of you, our treasured friends and supporters, we have made the decision to delay our 40th Anniversary For Love of the Land Celebration. No one is more disappointed than we are that we cannot safely gather in-person this autumn.

However, it is with renewed excitement that we look toward May 2022 in hopes to celebrate Colorado Open Lands’ 40 years of land conservation!

Keynote Speaker – Kirk Johnson

This year’s Keynote Speaker, Kirk Johnson, is the Sant Director of the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History and former Vice President and Chief Curator of the Denver Museum of Nature and Science. Known for his scientific articles, popular books, museum exhibitions, documentaries, and collaborations with artists, Kirk will offer a unique perspective on the land we work to preserve. His recent documentaries include Ice Age Death Trap (2012), Making North America (2015), The Great Yellowstone Thaw (2017), and The Day the Dinosaurs Died (2017). You may also know Kirk from his current show, NOVA’S Polar Extremes, which premiered on PBS in 2020.

Want to learn more about Sponsorship opportunities?

Please contact Alyssa Acosta, Director of Philanthropy, at or 303.989.2372 ext. 216 to set up a discussion about the best sponsorship opportunity for you


For Love of the Land is Colorado Open Lands’ premier annual celebration of those who care about land conservation in Colorado. The event brings people
together to connect and find inspiration in protecting Colorado’s land forever.

The Champion of the Land 
The Champion of the Land award was established to recognize influential individuals who have demonstrated leadership, foresight, and a strong land ethic, resulting in lasting impacts on our state. Our 2014 inaugural recipients, Dean Singleton and Dan Ritchie, laid the foundation of a new tradition that continued in 2015 with Harris D. Sherman, and in 2016 with Will Shafroth and Lise Aangeenbrug.

For more information, please contact Alyssa Acosta at 303.988.2373 or


Change this in Theme Options
Change this in Theme Options